The Search for the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies – Part 2: Childhood Flashback

img_1111

I can’t get away from my constant craving for chocolate chip cookies. I love all kinds of baking, but it seems that when I have all the options open to me, the only thing I want to make is a warm, gooey, delicious, chocolate…what was I saying? Oh yeah, Part 2 is here! My mom recently passed along the cookbook from our childhood. Kids Cooking – A Very Slightly Messy Manual was the only cookbook that I was allowed to use (relatively) without supervision. ANd, surprise surprise, all I ever wanted to make was the chocolate chip cookie. To be precise, the “Darrell’s Forget The Cookies Just Give Me That Batter Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe”. I immediately wanted to know how they lived up to my memories, so I dove right in.

img_1105

See the cute illustrations? It is such a good cookbook. I hope to hang on to it for any future kid’s birthday parties!

Darrell’s Forget the Cookies Just Give Me That Batter Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/8 cups flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 bag chocolate chips (6 oz)
  • 1/2 cup walnuts (optional, I didn’t use them!)

Directions:

  1. Turn your oven on to 375 degrees
  2. In a small bowl, melt the butter. While it’s hot, add both sugars. Stir, then let cool a bit.
  3. While the butter mixture is cooling, mix the flour, soda, and salt in the mixing bowl
  4. In a small bowl,  beat the egg lightly with a fork. Then add the egg and vanilla to the butter mixture. Stir.
  5. Now add the butter, egg, and vanilla to the flour mixture in the mixing bowl. Stir again, then add chocolate chips and nuts if you want them.
  6. Stir everything until it’s all mixed up well and put the bowl in the refrigerator for about an hour to cool.
  7. When time is up, get your cookie sheet – don’t grease it. Roll the dough into walnut sized balls , put them on the cookie sheet and bake for 10 minutes. Don’t overcook! You want your cookies to be moist and chewy. Take them off the cookie sheet carefully with your spatula and let them cool.
  8. Yum!

img_1106

They turned out delicious. And I tested the batter, in the name of title verification, and it was delicious too. Plus, the recipe was so simple I managed to not mess it up. The only thing I would change would be to add some more chocolate chips, but that would be a general rule for life if I had my way. Yay for kid’s cookbooks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

