Mom’s Apple Crisp

Ready to eat

Fall is my favourite season, for many reasons. I love breaking out my hoodies, my vests, the smell in the air when the weather starts getting cold, Halloween…I could go on. But my favourite part of Fall is the baking – fresh apples, cinnamon and pumpkin. A staple in my house when I was growing up was my mom’s famous Apple Crisp. I have been living on my own for last few years but have always gone back to Mom’s expertise when it comes to dessert. This year I decided it was time to take a risk and try it for myself – and I am so glad that I did. My house smells delicious and I devoured the finished product just like when I was a kid. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Mom’s Apple Crisp

1 cup rolled oats (not the instant)
1 c flour
1 c firmly packed brown sugar
1 c white sugar
1 c butter or margarine ( soft)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
6-8 apples peeled and sliced


Combine the oats, flour, sugars, butter, cinnamon and nutmeg. Blend together until crumbly.

Place the apple slices in a greased 9×13 pan; top with the oat mixture.

Bake 350 for 40 minutes. Serve warm or cold serves 10.

My mom usually halves the recipe and uses a smaller pan – I used 8×8 since I would probably have eaten the whole 9×13.

The pictures don’t do it justice – it turned out warm and delicious, crunchy on the top and soft underneath. Perfect for fall, just try and make sure there are people around to share it with you when it comes out of the oven, or you may end up keeping it all for yourself.

-C

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

