Valentine’s Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies

img_1937

Ok, so it is April and I am only just getting around to posting my Valentine’s Day baking…I am sorry. As you may now, we just bought a house and I am deep in the moving/decorating/cleaning/panicking/buying useless things on Etsy phase.

I wanted to make something cute and red for V-day, but in the end I didn’t have a ton of time to put anything elaborate together. I decided to use Bakerella’s easy idea and make some red velvet cookie sandwiches, since I had some of the cake mix on hand. They turned out delicious and very cute, but SUPER sweet, so I could only eat one (whereas my friends disagreed and had two or three or….you can imagine). I love red velvet, but Bakerella mentioned that any cake mix could do. I bet they would be delicious with a devil’s food cake chocolate mix!

img_1935

Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies

From Bakerella

Ingredients:

For the cookies
1 Box red velvet cake mix*
1/2 Cup butter, softened to room temperature
2 Eggs

For the cream cheese filling
1/2 Cup butter, softened to room temperature
1 8 oz. Package cream cheese, softened to room temperature
1 1lb. Box of confectioner’s sugar
1 tsp Vanilla

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Mix ingredients until combined.
  • Drop spoonfuls of cookie batter onto baking sheet about two inches apart.
  • Bake for 10-12 minutes.
  • Cool.
  • In a mixer, cream butter, cream cheese and vanilla.
  • Gradually add sugar and mix until smooth.

Makes about 24 cookies or 12 cookie sandwiches

Enjoy!

img_1936

1 Comment

Filed under Cookies, Holiday baking

One response to “Valentine’s Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies

  1. Shalanda

    I tried these for a valentine party at work they were a huge hit and everyone LOVED them! Thanks for a quick and easy idea

Leave a Reply

