Daily Archives: December 15, 2008

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

img_1015

I recently came into possession of a KitchenAid Stand Mixer. It is potentially the best gift anyone has ever given me, since I got that creepy crawler oven from Santa when I was 10 even though my mom had insisted that it was not a toy for girls. I love this thing. I think it would make the list of things I would grab if there was a fire. I decided to put it to use on my second installment of the quest for the best chocolate chip cookie. This time I tried something a little different, and went for a recipe with oatmeal in it as well. You know, to be healthy. Or something.

img_1007img_10081

The mixer made things so much easier, especially with a batter like this that is a strain on my weak, weak arms. I guess I have even less motivation to hit the gym now!

img_1010

The cookies turned out great! I loved how big the cookies were and how much of a mouthful they were. I think I would knock the cooking time down by a few minutes to make them less crunchy, but that might be a result of my crappy, temperemental oven and not a result of the recipe.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

(Source: allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; stir into the creamed mixture until just blended. Mix in the quick oats, walnuts, and chocolate chips. Drop by heaping spoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets.
  3. Bake for 12 minutes in the preheated oven. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely

img_1014img_1017

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Planning for the Christmas baking session…

I have finally finished with school for this semester and can focus myself on the things that really matter (read: baking). Every Christmas my mother and I get together and spend a day (at least) baking as much as possible, and then we distribute it to our friends, family, coworkers, etc. It is one of my favourite holiday traditions and I look forward to it all year. Last night I took the time to talk to my mom about what baked goods are on our list this year, and we went out to gather the ingredients. Here is the list so far:

I made the dough for the glazed lemon cookies yesterday and it is currently sitting in my freezer. I hope to get some more done tonight, plus I have two blog posts to add that have been waiting for school to be finished. I hope to do lots more updating in the next couple of weeks!

Happy Holidays everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies, Holiday baking